Billboard Ad Spot

Joseph Binder Design Illustration Award 2014

    Joseph Binder Design Illustration Award 2014 | Graphic Competitions
     Category:  Graphic Design
     Deadline:  May 31, 2014 - expired! February 24, 2014
     View/print as PDF:  A4 size - A5 size
     Visit Website:  [link]

    designaustria, the interest organization and knowledge centre for design in Austria, first launched the Joseph Binder Award - an international competition with a focus on graphic design and illustration - in 1996. It is named after one of the most outstanding graphic designers and illustrators active in Austria between the two World Wars, who subsequently also revolutionized visual communication in the United States.

    Joseph Binder’s motto was: "In design, everything has a function. Design has a representational function. Design has a communicational function. Design has a motivational function."

    The entries will be assessed by an international jury in thirteen categories:

    • Corporate Design
    • Communication Design
    • Information Design
    • Editorial Design
    • Type Design
    • Poster Design
    • Packaging Design
    • Book Illustration
    • Media Illustration
    • Commercial Illustration
    • Storyboard
    • Illustration in Miscellaneous Applications
    • Design Fiction

    Participation is open to both individuals and teams. The number of entries is not limited.

    Please note: early bird deadline is 31 March 2014, regular deadline is 31 May 2014.


    Graphic designers, illustrators, and students enrolled in relevant courses from all over the world are invited to enter their works realized in 2012 and after.


    In each category, a Joseph Binder Award in gold, silver, and bronze will be awarded in the form of trophies: the ball of crumpled paper encased in glass is a symbol for the creative process.

    In order to support independent, conceptual, and scientific activities in the fields of graphic design and illustration, money prizes will be awarded in the Design Fiction category in addition to the trophies:

    • First prize: 2,500 euros (approx. 3,400 USD)
    • Second prize: 2,000 euros
    • Third prize: 1,500 euros

    Additionally, the jury may choose up to seven Merit Awards per category. All of the entries selected by the jury will be published in a catalogue.

    Visit Website