Billboard Ad Spot

World Press Photo Contest 2024

    World Press Photo Contest 2024 | Graphic Competitions
     Category:  Photography
     Deadline:  January 11, 2024 - expired! November 5, 2023
     View/print as PDF:  A4 size - A5 size
     Visit Website:  [link]

    The World Press Photo Contest, organized by the esteemed World Press Photo Foundation, stands as an illustrious beacon in the realm of photojournalism and documentary photography. Based in Amsterdam, Netherlands, this non-profit foundation has been celebrating the power of visual storytelling by recognizing outstanding photography that encapsulates global events and issues. With its deep commitment to bringing untold stories to the fore, the contest has become synonymous with photographic excellence and integrity.

    With a structure that honors work across four categories — Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects, and Open Format — the World Press Photo Contest ensures a diverse appreciation of the myriad ways in which photojournalism and documentary photography can manifest. Entrants are judged regionally across six designated areas: Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania. This strategic regional approach not only highlights local narratives but also enhances the contest’s global perspective, attracting a wide range of entrants and bolstering its international standing in search engines as the preeminent competition for professional photographers.

    Moreover, the competition’s unique format and the inclusion of categories that span various formats and storytelling techniques ensure that it caters to a wide array of photographic works. From the intensity of a single image to the depth and narrative of long-term projects, the World Press Photo Contest showcases the most compelling and thought-provoking visual journalism of the year. As the contest garners entries that reflect a multitude of themes, it has cemented its position as a key search result for those seeking the pinnacle of photographic achievement in capturing the essence of our times.

    There is no entry fee.


    Open worldwide to all professional photojournalists and documentary photographers.


    There will be 24 regional winners, one for each category, each receiving €1,000. Additionally, four global winners will be selected for the World Press Photo of the Year, the World Press Photo Story of the Year, the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award, and the World Press Photo Open Format Award, with each receiving an extra €5,000. Winners’ work will be showcased in an annual traveling exhibition, published on various platforms, included in a yearbook, and winners will be invited to a special winners’ program in Amsterdam, along with a physical award.

    Visit Website