Billboard Ad Spot

2023 Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

    2023 Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award | Graphic Competitions
     Category:  Photography
     Deadline:  March 3, 2023 - expired! January 20, 2023
     View/print as PDF:  A4 size - A5 size
     Visit Website:  [link]

    The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014), with a generous 1 Million USD gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation.

    With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous work manifests in many different forms which may include but is not limited to conflict or frontline reporting.

    A candidate may either self-nominate or be nominated by an editor, mentor or journalist peer. Each nomination and application must include candidate information, work samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.

    There is no entry fee.


    Open to women, nonbinary and gender nonconforming journalists. Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.


    Recipients of the Courage in Photojournalism Award will receive a cash prize of 20,000 USD and have their work showcased during an award ceremony.

    Visit Website