Graphic Competitions graphiccompetitions.com

Type Directors Club 2019 Type Competitions

Category: <u>Graphic Design</u> Deadline: January 11, 2019

Website: graphiccompetitions.com



Type Directors Club has announced its call for entries for the **65th Annual Communications Design** and the **22nd Typeface Design Competitions**, a celebration of the world's best typography.

You are welcome to enter original professional work designed in 2018 or unpublished student work designed for a class assignment in 2018. Students are also welcome to enter either personal or paid work (work NOT created for a class assignment) into the Professional category.

Any new typeface designs produced or published between *January 1* and *December 31, 2018* are eligible. Typeface designs may be submitted by anyone involved in their design, production, or marketing. Extended or revised versions of older, previously published type designs are not eligible. This includes upgraded typefaces with newly expanded glyph sets in the original script.

Type Directors Club appoints new chairs to oversee each of these competitions each year.

Communications Design competition: For this coming year, the chair is Bobby C. Martin Jr. The Communications Design judges are Karin Fong, Leo Jung, Eddie Opara, Paulina Reyes, Ian Spalter, Annik Troxler, and Zipeng Zhu.

Typeface Design competition: Nina Stössinger will chair this year's typeface competition. The Typeface Design judges are Nicole Dotin, Tobias Frere-Jones, Erin McLaughlin, and Kristyan Sarkis.

An Early Bird discount on entries is available through *October 19*, but regular entries are accepted until *December 7*. After that, we will accept late entries (at higher fees) until *January 11*, 2019.

Eligibility

Open to anyone worldwide.

Prize

An international jury of type designers, graphic designers, art directors, and illustrators will select the winning entries, which will be shown in a travelling exhibition that will tour to over 40 cities throughout the world and published in the **Type Directors Club Annual**.